The sensitive zones of the cat’s anatomy


The cat is an animal made of rather sensitive zones. There are four of them which are: the Jacobson’s organ, the whiskers, the digestive system and the ear. Hence, why are those areas sensitive for cats?


1. The vomeronasal organ

This organ called the “Jacobson’s organ” is placed behind the incisors, between the nasal septum and the cat’s mouth palate. The cat has a very well-developed sense of smell and this organ will improve it. In fact, the vomeronasal organ is sensitive to some odours, mainly to substances which are secretly released by the cat to mark its territory i.e. pheromones.


2. The Vibrissae

Vibrissae most know as whiskers are sensory organs essential yet very sensitive for cats. Those hairs represent a sixth sense for our favourite animal and allow it to be precise while moving. In fact, they will allow the cat to find its way in its environment by directly sending information to its brain. Acting like “radars”, the whiskers will help the animal to detect what is moving around it, hence, avoiding, obstacles.


3. The digestive system

Cats have a small and acidic stomach, a small intestine and a very short large intestine. Hence, they have a very sensitive digestive system. In fact, a diverse diet may entail, in our favourite animal, rather important vomiting.


4. The sense of hearing

Humans hear sounds with a maximum frequency of 20 000 Hz. As for a cat, it may hear sounds up to 50 000 Hz, which makes its ear a sensitive organ. However, it must be noted that several white cats experience a complete deafness.